All States of India With Capital of India | GK Quiz 2020

All States of India With Capital of India

The most recent question asked in any general knowledge test is how many states are there in India and what are their capitals? To make GK Quiz 2020 easy for you, we’ve presented all states of India with the capital of India.

Besides this, get details about union territories and what separates states from U.T. We have also displayed the exact dates on which the states of India were founded. Each state has its own unique language that you must be aware about. Make sure that you are going through every single detail down here, to excel in a quiz on states of India and capitals.

28 States and Capitals of India 2020

S.NoStates NameCapitalFounded onLanguages
1Andhra PradeshHyderabad (Proposed Capital Amaravati)1 Nov. 1956


Telengu and Urudu,


2Arunachal PradeshItanagar20 Feb. 1987Miji, Apotanji,

Merdukpen, Tagin,

Dokhona, Bangini-Nishi

3AssamDispur26 Jan. 1950Assamese
4BiharPatna26 Jan. 1950Hindi
5ChhattisgarhRaipur1 Nov. 2000Hindi
6GoaPanaji30 May. 1987Marathiand Konkani
7GujaratGandhinagar1 May. 1960Gujarati
8HaryanaChandigarh1 Nov. 1966Hindi
9Himachal PradeshShimla25 Jan. 1971Hindi and Pahari
10JharkhandRanchi15 Nov. 2000Hindi


Bengaluru (formerly Bangalore)1 Nov. 1956Kannada
12KeralaThiruvananthapuram1 Nov. 1956Malayalam
13Madhya PradeshBhopal1 Nov. 1956Hindi
14MaharashtraMumbai1 May. 1960Marathi
15ManipurImphal21 Jan. 1972Manipuri
16MeghalayaShillong21 Jan. 1972Khashi, Jaintia And Garo
17MizoramAizawl20 Feb. 1987Mizo and English
18NagalandKohima1 Dec. 1963Ao, Konyak, Angami,Sema and Lotha
19OdishaBhubaneswar26 Jan. 1950Oriya
20PunjabChandigarh1 Nov. 1956Punjabi
21RajasthanJaipur1 Nov. 1956Rajasthani and Hindi
22SikkimGangtok16 May. 1975Bhutia, Hindi, Nepali, Lepcha, Limbu
23Tamil NaduChennai26 Jan. 1950Tamil
24TelanganaHyderabad2 Jun. 2014Telugu
25TripuraAgartala21 Jan. 1972Bengali, Tripuri, Manipuri, Kakborak
26Uttar PradeshLucknow26 Jan. 1950Hindi


Dehradun (Winter),

Gairsain (Summer)

9 Nov. 2000Hindi
28West BengalKolkata1 Nov. 1956Bengali

Which Apps Banned In India

Indian States: Union Territories and Capitals

Today, we have 8 Union Territories and 28 States. The former state of Jammu and Kashmir has been split into two Union Territories (UT) of J&K and Ladakh. On 5-6 August 2020, the recently modified union territories were formed under a reorganization act passed by the Parliament.

Union TerritoriesCapitalFounded on
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair1 Nov. 1956
ChandigarhChandigarh1 Nov. 1966
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman26 Jan. 2020
DelhiNew Delhi9 May. 1905
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
31 Oct 2019
LakshadweepKavaratti1 Nov. 1956
PuducherryPondicherry1 Nov. 1954
LadakhLeh31 Oct 2019


Indian Cricket Quiz Questions And Answers

Difference Between States and Union Territories

It’s clear now that each union territory and state have a capital of its own. Let’s find out how to separate the state from a union territory. Delhi, Puducherry (formerly Pondicherry), and Jammu and Kashmir are the union territories in India that have their legislatures. For further details check out the below-discussed points:

State Union Territory
It comprises of its own administrative units and elected government.It is a constituent unit, controlled and administered by the Central Government.
Governor is the executive head.President is the executive head.
Federal relationship with the Centre.Unitary relationship with the Centre. This means that all the powers are in the hands of Union.
Elected by the people and administered by the Chief Minister.Administered by the Administrator. The President appoints the administrator. (excluding Delhi, Puducherry and Jammu & Kashmir)
The real head is Chief Minister.The real head is Lieutenant.


General Knowledge About India 2020

UT Updates on States and Capitals of India

After the amalgamations made, since 26th January 2020, the country has 8 union territories. The former Union Territories Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli were converted in a single union territory.

On 5 August 2020, the central government had made it clear that the special status given to Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370 had abolished. It had divided into two Union Territories: UTs of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.


This is all about the topic “All States of India With Capital of India”. To get more updated information on the same, keep connecting with us at

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

Leave a comment